Australian Over 50s Cricket

Australian Squad Named For World Cup

The Australian squad has (finally) been named, meaning that all 8 countries have named their squads and we are ready to go!

The Aussies were waiting for the completion of their inter-state selection tournament before naming their side. It is – as you would expect – a very strong lineup, with only 5 survivors from the group that toured New Zealand in February.

Good luck to the Aussies! Here is the official announcement from Mal Coleman …

“On behalf of our Australian National O50s Selectors & Australian O50s Committee, we announce the 16 man Squad and 4 Reserves for the 2018 World Cup in Sydney with the first match commencing on Wednesday 21 November.

The squad selected is :

Peter Solway ACT (captain)
Trent Ryan QLD (vice captain)
Bill Blair VIC
Greg Briggs NSW
Gavin Brown QLD
Anthony Clark NSW
Stephen Gollan WA
Rowan Harry NSW
Warwick Hayes NSW
Darren Hill VIC
Brad Mant WA
Todd O’Keefe NSW
Joe Santostefano WA
Tim Sargent SA
John Short NSW
Darren Smith NSW

Reserve Players:
Stuart Crisp NSW
Craig Gislingham VIC
Andrew Knight QLD
Paul Nemes ACT

Michael Van Zuyden from Victoria is appointed the Manager of the Squad.

Congratulations to all and our best wishes for what we expect to be 2 weeks of exciting competition.

Best regards
Mal Coleman
On behalf of
O50 Committee & Selectors”

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *